Today my run was so emotional. I honestly cried, I teared up. I think this
happens sometimes when we are transitioning into something new. I was powerful.
I was strong, and I kept fucking going.
I owned it. I had energy and I
used it to keep my run moving but still not to overtake my scheduled training
too far. I felt as though I could run forever!
Recently I have felt that I am coming back into my own
person. I am returning back to the woman
who I was before I birthed my last baby.
I felt great emotionally during that pregnancy, I felt good after. And I didn’t realize until today that I am
still working on returning to the ‘old’ Me.
I had a dear girlfriend visit me this summer. Our talks, little gestures, and
ambitions reminded me of who I used to be.
Now don’t get me wrong, I am not lost, I am not looking for direction, I just had missed a few things that belonged
to me. Little things. So as I noticed what was missing, I reintroduced
them the next day. It felt good to see
the pieces that I missed without realizing it.
I love the song Elastic Heart. I have listened to it
constantly for weeks, sung it at the top of my lungs with the kids in the car. But the words tonight resonated with me… I am bouncing back. I can be stretched. I can be tough. I can survive pregnancy, birth and come out
powerful. Yet I am still searching for my true self and
how to be a better version of me. I
will still have my traits of self-destruction, but I can work through that by
just waking up each day.
At the beginning of each year I pick a word. One word I want to represent me for the next
365 days. When I am feeling down, happy,
or in a difficult situation, I use that word to help me see what I want to
bring to my life. It always teaches me
more than I expect, or the meaning evolves as the year progresses 2015 = REFLECTION. In January I wanted to see what was in my
life, I want it to reflect who I am. I
want my kids to be a reflection of me. I
want to be happy with what I see around me.
What I forgot that REFLECTION is also something I see in the mirror. I was so worried about being judged (probably
by myself) that I forgot that what I see in the mirror IS me! I fuckin own that shit! I work hard for that.
I am dedicated to myself. I want to have
a healthy me and it is reflecting right back at me!!! Why did it take me so long to
notice it?! What have I been looking at
every morning when I get ready for my day?
Wow, I only realized it on tonight’s run. And it was emotional. Very emotional.
I am not going to apologize anymore for being myself. (or I
am going to try my hardest to be aware of it)
I am going to use my energy to make me a better me.
No comments:
Post a Comment